Marcel Bontempi Was Really ‘Diggin’ A Hole’ At The Rave

11639713_10205092903934889_72564116_o

German rockabilly sensation Marcel Bontempi chatted to Mayhem Rockabilly literally hours after finishing his debut set at The Rockabilly Rave in Camber, England. The man has made great strides on the rockin’ scene and his song ‘Dig A Hole’ has become a regular DJ bopper in rockabilly clubs all over the country. Marcel tells us he was simply blown away by the response he received on the main stage and how his album has been received globally.

“There was friendly people all around me, and it was very organised. There was good food in the neighbourhood, a great audience, great band and DJs. I was pretty overwhelmed here by the way Ira and myself were received and I was also mighty happy to have had the chance to play once again with Mark, Tony, Rob and Bill, AKA ‘Bill Fadden & The Rhythm Busters”.

I first saw Marcel live at Hemsby 52 (May 2014) on the main stage and I was blown away by his approach and take on this wonderful genre of music. He sings about obscure creatures etc. but does it with such a fantastic sound and authentic rhythm that we just don’t seem to care. He explains to us how he got involved in this genre of music.

“I really got into music when a friend of mine wanted to form a band when we were back in school. They needed a singer and somehow I felt challenged and jumped into it! Once I started singing I then saw it would be convenient to strum a few chords on the guitar to accompany myself, so everything just started” said Bontempi.

“My influence was mainly Rockabilly, but I quickly wanted more different sounds to play so I discovered Hillbilly music and that was followed by Jamaican-Ska, Soul, 60’s Surf. I can say that I basically love all music from the 1940’s ’til 1960’s but it has to be criminal somehow, strange and appealing. The typical genre cliches never interested me that much!”.

Dubbed ‘The Wizard Of Rhythm’ Marcel’s debut album ‘Witches, Spiders, Frogs & Holes’ has been a world-wide success with many a rockabilly fan hunting down a copy. Vinyl, CD and digital formats have sold so well and that pleases the German artist no end.

“Yes sir! This really is the best reward for investing so much time and lifeblood in it. To be honest, I just had to do it, so there was no planning, I just recorded and recorded and recorded without any aim or target. I can tell you, it get’s pretty lonely and cold in this little bunker, but still I have to go there and design my songs. I really appreciate all the kind words and it made my day to see the young band covering my version of ‘Dig A Hole’ at The Rave!” beamed Marcel.

11535323_10205092903814886_2034067313_o

The ‘Spiderman’ has a busy schedule left in 2015 and already has some bookings for 2016. It really is no surprise to us here at Mayhem how much of a success Marcel has, and continues, to be.

“In exactly 5 days time I am playing at The Rock ‘n’ Roll Midsummer Jamboree in Finland. After that I am back to Camber for The Rhythm Riot, then the fantastic Dracula Weekend in Valencia. Next years Summer Safari in Germany so far, but I have club concerts and all-nighters all around Europe”.

He hails from Germany and he confirms that there is quite a major scene out in the country of his origin. Rhythm Bomb Records is based in Germany and there is much more rockin’ to be had in the country according to the ‘Train of Sin’ singer.
“Oh yes, definitely, there is a strong scene with many bands a good DJs. They have mighty record labels, great festivals and it is growing bigger and better all the time. I am so happy to be a part of it!”.

When I asked him if he would consider playing The Rave again (if he was asked) you can bet what we said!

“Definitely! Never have been there before, but so many of my friends go there each year, now I understand why! Jerry Chatabox, 100 points to you!” ended Mr. Bontempi.

Photographs by FOTOMANIA/KASSEL.

Leave a comment